Enriching lives through art and craft

Touch: Interactive Craft

Exhibition dates: January 16 – March 11, 2016
Opening Reception: January 22, 6:00-8:00 pm, Awards Ceremony at 7pm

“Touch: Interactive Craft” is a national juried exhibition organized by Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts. This year’s theme invited submissions that involve viewer interaction, require audience manipulation for the piece’s creation or enjoyment, or gain significance by being touched. “Touch,” acknowledges that traditional craft forms are rooted in their functionality, and as such are often created to be handled. Chosen by juror Emily Zilber, the works selected for the exhibition reflect impressive levels of craftsmanship and engage the viewer in innovative ways, breaking the typical passive viewing barriers of a museum or gallery setting.

Information about the Juror:

Emily Zilber is the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston’s first Ronald L. and Anita C. Wornick Curator of Contemporary Decorative Arts. Zilber is responsible for the MFA’s vibrant program of contemporary decorative arts, including guiding acquisitions and developing a presence for craft and design in the Linde Family Wing for Contemporary Art and throughout the museum. Zilber oversees the Daphne and Peter Farago Gallery, a dedicated space for modern and contemporary craft, design, and decorative arts. Current projects include the exhibitions “Nature, Sculpture, Abstraction and Clay: 100 Years of American Ceramics” (opened January 2015) and “Crafted: Objects in Flux,” (opening August 2015), which will be accompanied by a full-length publication.

Participating Artists:

Fumi Amano, Missy Graff Ballone, Josh Bass, Sarah Rachel Brown, Heather Buechler, Marcelyn Bennett Carpenter, Sunyoung Cheong, Yu-Chi Chien, Erika Diamond, Alicia Dietz, Annie Evelyn, Yael Friedman, Reagan Furqueron, Jeni Hansen Gard, Magda Gluszek, Holly Hanessian, Karen Hardy, Lucy Holtsnider, Katie Hudnall, Lauren Kalman and Kipp Bradford, Joshua Kosker, Kirk Lang, Kathleen Little, Meg Mitchell, Lyndsay Rice, Jina Seo, Suzanna Scott, Linda Tien, Kurt Treeby, Tonya Vance, Kimberly Winkle, and Dukno Yoon.

Award Winners:

1st Place ($1,000) – Joshua Kosker, for all three brooches and the [re]embody installation
2nd Place ($500) – Kirk Lang, for both Constellation 1 and Constellation 2
3rd Place ($250) – Katie Hudnall, Symbiosis #4, Drawers and Drawings
Honorable Mention ($125) – Dukno Yoon, Wings
Honorable Mention ($125) – Jeni Hansen Gard, Project Share

ART WORKSTENNESSEE ARTS COMMISIONTENNESSEE FOR THE ARTSTennessee Specialty License PlatesEAST TENNESSEE FOUNDATIONWindgate Foundation Arrowmont is being supported, in whole or in part, by federal award number SLFRP5534 awarded to the State of Tennessee by the U.S. Department of Treasury.

Donation to Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts

How much would you like to donate?
$50 $100 $250
Would you like to make regular donations? I would like to make donation(s)
How many times would you like this to recur? (including this payment) *
First Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Current Mailing Address
Additional Note
A current mailing address is required to receive an acknowledgement/tax receipt.