SPIN: Master Silk Painters

September 22 – October 20, 2018 | Geoffrey A. Wolpert Gallery

Suzanne Punch

The designation of Master Silk Painter was initiated in 2009 by Silk Painters International to indicate both accomplished technical prowess and mature artistic expression in silk art. This honorific title covers all forms of work on silk, as long as silk is the primary material component. In all, seventeen SPIN members, now known as MSPs, are given this designation in hopes of inspiring excellence in everyone who takes up the medium of silk art.

The application to become an MSP is deliberately rigorous and involved. Only the most talented and experienced silk artists are awarded this prestigious designation. The selection committee judges are representative of one person from the SPIN Board, one current MSP, and one person with expertise in the artistic area of the applicant. Applicants are judged on four components: artistry and self expression, craftsmanship, resume and artist statement.

Diane Lawrence

The worlds of fine art, craft and fashion all benefit from the multi-dimensional efforts of silk painters today, pushing the boundaries of the medium in new and beautiful ways. By creating the MSP Designation, Silk Painters International has endeavored to raise the bar on the quality of work and aspirations of silk artists, demonstrating to the world the range of modern possibilities in this ancient art form.

Cheri Reckers

Participating MSP artists: Susan Moyers, Sissi Siska, Nadja Lancelot, Suzanne Punch, Karen Sistek, Diane Lawrence, Merridee Joan Smith, Linnea Pergola, Cheri Reckers, Christy Greene and Julie Cox-Hamm

Featured image: The Girl and the Sea by Linnea Pergola




Donation to Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts

How much would you like to donate?
$50 $100 $250 $500 $1,000
Would you like to make regular donations? I would like to make donation(s)
How many times would you like this to recur? (including this payment) *
First Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Current Mailing Address
Additional Note
A current mailing address is required to receive an acknowledgement/tax receipt.