Enriching lives through art and craft

Arrowmont Permanent Collection: Selections Made by the 2021-2022 Artists-in-Residence

September 13 – December 10, 2021 | Sandra J. Blain Gallery

Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts presents an exhibition of works from its permanent collection, selected and curated by the 2021 – 2022 Artists-in-Residence: Elizabeth Belz, Horacio Casillas, Kyle Cottier, Naomi David Russo and Lena Schmid. 59 works are on exhibit, spanning 1973 – 2019.

Over the last few decades the permanent collection has steadily expanded and now includes nearly 1,000 works in a variety of arts and crafts media. The permanent collection is endowed in honor of former director Sandy Blain, who worked for more than two decades to enhance the collection. Made by the hands of current and past Arrowmont instructors, individuals from the settlement school’s days, and past artists-in-residence, the works represent the arts and craft school’s history, present, and future.

Featured artists include:
BJ Adams, Max Adrian, Alice Ballard-Munn, Sasha Baskin, Lynn Batchelder, Susan Benzle, Sandra J. Blain, Christian Burchard, Harlan Butt, Jean Carter, Kip Christensen, Bede Clarke, Alyssa Coffin, Hunter Creel, Estella Dagua, Matthew Dercole, Darren Fisher, John Garret, Carol Genitithes, He Gong, Erin Gray, Bill Griffith, Yosuke Haruta, Mark Hewitt, Skip Johnson, Leonard Koscianski, Ron Kovatch, Alma Lesch, Simon Levin, Barbara Macy, Janet Marsano, Amy Masters, Harvey Meyer, Shawn O’Connor, Shiro Otani, Binh Pho, Markku Piri, Patrick Purcell, Bets Ramsey, Ted Ramsey, Jane Reiter, Lee Rextrode, Justin Rothshank, Owen Rye, James M. Sahlstrand, Margaret Sahlstrand, Michael Simon, Shigeko Spear, Jo Stealey, Jo Stone, Georgia Strange, F.E. Toan, Clare Verstegen, Doug Wilson, Lester Van Winkle, Kari Woolsey, Hiroko Yamada, Alex Younger, Xia Zhang
ART WORKSTENNESSEE ARTS COMMISIONTENNESSEE FOR THE ARTSTennessee Specialty License PlatesEAST TENNESSEE FOUNDATIONWindgate Foundation Arrowmont is being supported, in whole or in part, by federal award number SLFRP5534 awarded to the State of Tennessee by the U.S. Department of Treasury.

Donation to Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts

How much would you like to donate?
$50 $100 $250 $0 $0
Would you like to make regular donations? I would like to make donation(s)
How many times would you like this to recur? (including this payment) *
First Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Current Mailing Address
Additional Note
A current mailing address is required to receive an acknowledgement/tax receipt.