Enriching lives through art and craft

Arrowmont opens 18th Sevier County Biennial Juried Exhibition January 21st

Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts is exhibiting 77 works in the 18th Sevier County Biennial Juried Exhibition. Community members are invited to view the exhibition and attend the opening reception on Friday, January 20, 2017, 6:00 – 8:00 pm. The exhibition will be on view January 21 – March 4, 2017 in the Sandra J. Blain Gallery. Admission is free. Gallery hours are Monday – Friday 9:00 am – 5:00 pm and Saturday 10:00 am – 4:00 pm.

The 18th Sevier County Biennial Juried Exhibition is a mixed media art exhibition that recognizes and fosters skills and talents of the artists and craftspeople who call the rich region of Sevier County home. The Biennial is sponsored by Food City, SmartBank and Tennessee Arts Commission.

teri-aleaThe Biennial’s juror is Teri Alea, executive director of Tennessee Craft in Nashville, Tennessee. Teri leads a statewide craft organization which provides support, guidance and professional development for craft artists across the state. Twice a year, Tennessee Craft organizes craft fairs that showcase more than 200 artists that showcase beautifully handcrafted objects made in Tennessee and across the nation.

Before Tennessee Craft, Teri worked at Metro Nashville Arts Commission (MNAC) for ten years. Teri has experience in a variety of capacities in the creative fields, including gallery work, photography, studio management and production support at a small art agency. Teri served as an exhibition juror at the Gatlinburg Fine Arts Festival and Artclectic, a national show benefitting the University School of Nashville. Teri graduated with a BA degree from Belmont University’s Honors Program in Studio Art and Organizational Development with MBA coursework during a graduate assistantship at Belmont.

“Special congratulations to those whose work was selected to be in this show. I find your work exciting and successful! Your work shows craftsmanship, originality, and in some cases tradition and others, territory, a quality which reflects the specific tastes, identify and heritage of a place, this other special place – these smoky mountains and the verdant nature that surrounds Gatlinburg,” says juror Teri Alea.

Participating Artists:
Clifford Aldrich, Diane Aldrich, Ann Armerding, David Barnhart, Robert Batey, Dana Cohen, Debra Lovvorn Belvin, Lynn Corsi Bland, Bob Bolinger, Judy Bolinger, Vickie Bradshaw, Rebecca Buglio, Frank Bulman, Tammy Bulman, Lisa Canfield, Lisa Walk Dixon, Susan Edwards, Anne Fontaine, Frances Fox, Carol Galyon, Jill Greene, Bill Griffith, Jeff Hale, Buie Hancock, Peggy Haupt, Mary-Louise Hunt, Charlotte Iverson, Ewin Jenkins, Bev Gwinn Jones, Alice Anne Kellogg, Barbara Lauritzen, Maia Leppo, Iryna Lialko, Anita Miller, Christina M. Moore, Velma Orrick, Amber Anne Palo, Doreen Prakshot, Otto Preske, Claudette Pridemore, Austin Riddle, Patsy Rodriguez, Mary Ruden, Kathryn Rutherford, Sharon Schoenfeld, Jean Shamblin, Mike Shults, Kelly Sullivan, Tatiana Tikhonova, Debi Veranth, Victoria C. Walker, Andrea Wilson and Nelson Ziegler.



Donation to Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts

How much would you like to donate?
$50 $100 $250 $0 $0
Would you like to make regular donations? I would like to make donation(s)
How many times would you like this to recur? (including this payment) *
First Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Current Mailing Address
Additional Note
A current mailing address is required to receive an acknowledgement/tax receipt.