Arrowmont announces 18th Sevier County Biennial Juried Exhibition Awards

The 18th Sevier County Biennial Juried Exhibition is a mixed media art exhibition that recognizes and fosters skills and talents of the artists and craftspeople who call the rich region of Sevier County home. The exhibition features works in book arts, clay, drawing, encaustics, fiber art, jewelry, metals, mixed media, painting, photography, printmaking, sculpture, wood and more.

Community members are invited to view the exhibition on display through March 4, 2017 in the Sandra J. Blain Gallery at Arrowmont. Admission is free. Gallery hours are Monday – Friday 9:00 am – 5:00 pm and Saturday 10:00 am – 4:00 pm. The Biennial is sponsored by Food City and SmartBank.

Last Friday, community members celebrated the exhibition at the opening reception and awards ceremony. Arrowmont is excited to announce the 18th Sevier County Biennial Juried Exhibition award winners. A total of $3,200 was given to local artists for the following awards selected by juror Teri Alea – executive director of Tennessee Craft in Nashville, Tennessee.

Best of Show  Ernie, Brer Fox, Brer Rabbit, and Tar Baby by Susan Edwards

Best of Show
Ernie, Brer Fox, Brer Rabbit, and Tar Baby by Susan Edwards

Best of Show
Ernie, Brer Fox, Brer Rabbit, and Tar Baby by Susan Edwards

Distinguished Media Award: Ceramic
Raku Pots by Jeff Hale

Distinguished Media Award: Drawing
Above and Below by Anne Fontaine

Distinguished Media Award: Fiber
Wren’s Rule by Doreen Prakshot

Distinguished Media Award: Mixed Media
Don’t Be Koi by Charlotte Iverson

Distinguished Media Award: Painting
Annapolis Dome by Nelson Ziegler

Distinguished Media Award: Photography
Dancing Flowers by Christina M. Moore

Distinguished Media Award: Printmaking
Portrait with Pattern by Tatiana Tikhonova

Distinguished Media Award: Sculpture
Finding Home by Amber Anne Palo

Distinguished Media Award: Wood
Journey’s End by Ewin Jenkins

Awards of Merit:
The Jester by Lynn Corsi Bland

Awards of Merit:
Reading Opens Doors to Imagination by Kathryn Rutherford

Awards of Merit:
Wild Little Luna Moth Series by Lisa Walk Dixon

Purchase Awards:
The Emily B. Kile Purchase Award: Tangled Tree Roots by Anne Fontaine

The Geoffrey A. Wolpert Purchase Award: Lil’ Sippers by Arrowmont Artist-in-Residence, Austin Riddle

The Bill and Anne May Purchase Award: Triptych 1 by Bill Griffith

Participating Artists:
Clifford Aldrich, Diane Aldrich, Ann Armerding, David Barnhart, Robert Batey, Dana Cohen, Debra Lovvorn Belvin, Lynn Corsi Bland, Bob Bolinger, Judy Bolinger, Vickie Bradshaw, Rebecca Buglio, Frank Bulman, Tammy Bulman, Lisa Canfield, Lisa Walk Dixon, Susan Edwards, Anne Fontaine, Frances Fox, Carol Galyon, Jill Greene, Bill Griffith, Jeff Hale, Buie Hancock, Peggy Haupt, Mary-Louise Hunt, Charlotte Iverson, Ewin Jenkins, Bev Gwinn Jones, Alice Anne Kellogg, Barbara Lauritzen, Maia Leppo, Iryna Lialko, Anita Miller, Christina M. Moore, Velma Orrick, Amber Anne Palo, Doreen Prakshot, Otto Preske, Claudette Pridemore, Austin Riddle, Patsy Rodriguez, Mary Ruden, Kathryn Rutherford, Sharon Schoenfeld, Jean Shamblin, Mike Shults, Kelly Sullivan, Tatiana Tikhonova, Debi Veranth, Victoria C. Walker, Andrea Wilson and Nelson Ziegler.


Donation to Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts

How much would you like to donate?
$50 $100 $250 $500 $1,000
Would you like to make regular donations? I would like to make donation(s)
How many times would you like this to recur? (including this payment) *
First Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Current Mailing Address
Additional Note
A current mailing address is required to receive an acknowledgement/tax receipt.