2017 Instructor Exhibition

May 13 – July 22, 2017 | Sandra J. Blain Gallery

The annual Instructor Exhibit is held every summer in honor of Arrowmont’s workshop instructors, who are nationally recognized artists and university faculty. These individuals help further Arrowmont’s mission of enriching lives through art and we are privileged to celebrate them and their work. With over 150 classes being offered in a variety of media, instructors and students come to Arrowmont from across the globe to share skills and ideas- fostering new thinking, artistic growth and creative camaraderie. The exhibit showcases work from over 100 of the visiting instructors, and is a diverse and engaging representation of the techniques taught at Arrowmont including woodworking, glass, ceramics, painting, fiber and textile work, metals, jewelry, book arts, photography and printmaking.

There is an interactive element added to this year’s Instructor Exhibition. Using a smart phone, viewers can watch videos of instructor demonstrations given during their Arrowmont workshop. To view videos, download the “QR Code Reader” application and scan the QR code posted by the instructor’s work in the gallery. New video QR codes will be posted throughout summer and fall workshop sessions as instructors visit campus. All videos can be found on Arrowmont’s YouTube channel as well.

Participating Artists: Megan Abajian, Jackie Abrams, Amie Adelman, Maureen Aderman, Tanya Aguiniga, Jody Alexander, Tom Bartel, Carol Barton, Mary Todd Beam, Michael Dale Bernard, Dixie Biggs, Steve Loar, Margaret Bohls, Angela Bubash, Clay Burnette, Ben Carter, Erin Castellan, Meagan Chaney Gumpert, Gary Chapman, Victoria Christen, John Cogswell, Robert Dancik, Shane Darwent, Israel Davis, Michael Dixon, Brandon Donahue, Sondra Dorn, Sharon Doughtie, James Duxbury, Kim Eichler-Messmer, David Ellsworth, Thaddeus Erdahl, J. Paul Fennell, P.J. Floyd, Adam Fotos, Jay Fox, Marcia Goldenstein, Katie Grove, Erika Lynne Hanson, Ursula Hargens, Stephen Hatcher, Anne Havel, Ana Lisa Hedstrom, Lotta Helleburg, Mary Hettmansperger, David F. Heustess, Maggy Rozyck Hiltner, Anne Mette Hjortshoj, Bryant Holsenbeck, Katie Hudnall, Mi-Sook Hur, Lisa Johnson, Steve Johnson, Emmet Kane, Kelli Kelley, Jerry Kermode, William Kocher, Michael Lee, Suze Lindsay, Lisa D. Line, Skye Livingston, Thomas Lucas, Courtney Martin, Kate Maury, Tom McCarthy, Tedd McDonah, Don McGowan, Jon McMillan, Stephanie Metz, Tom Muir, Sabiha Mujtaba, Heidi Neilson, Gail Nelson, Elizabeth Odiorne, Brooks Oliver, Doug Peltzman, Colette Peters, John Phillips, Lynda Ray, Tom Riesing, Luanne Rimel, Lindsay Rogers, Kevin Rohde, Cornel Rubino, Charlie Ryland, Andrew Saftel, Margaret Scanlan, Peggy Schmid, Deborah Schwartzkopf, Brian Simmons, Nadine Spier, Regina St. John, Jacob Stanley, Jo Stealey, Jeffrey Stenbom, Liz Zlot Summerfield, Sue Tirrell, Karen Tunnell, Andrea Vail, Sherri Warner Hunter, Kathleen Wilcox, Laura Wood, Yamada Hiroko

Featured pieces, right to left: Pink Leaf Teapot, Margaret Bohls, Porcelain, 4.5″ x 9″ x 7,” 2015, Teapot, Anne Mette Hjortshoj, Ceramics and willow, 18 cm x 28 cm, 2017, Blue Mum Teapot, Ben Carter, 9″ x 7″ x 6,” 2016


Donation to Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts

How much would you like to donate?
$50 $100 $250 $500 $1,000
Would you like to make regular donations? I would like to make donation(s)
How many times would you like this to recur? (including this payment) *
First Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Current Mailing Address
Additional Note
A current mailing address is required to receive an acknowledgement/tax receipt.